Marvel announces it’s taking its cinematic universe through 2019


On its blog, and just ahead of San Diego Comic-Con next week, Marvel has announced that its film franchise continuum will continue through 2019. The Marvel Cinematic Universe, which already includes films in the Iron Man, Captain America, the Avengers, Thor, and Guardians of the Galaxy franchise, will expand with 5 films from 2017-2019.

The dates are as follows:

  • July 28, 2017
  • November 3, 2017
  • July 6, 2018
  • November 2, 2018
  • May 3, 2019

Up until now we’ve known what some of the 2015-2016 films will be, including next year’s Avengers: Age of Ultron and 2016’s Ant Man & Captain America movies. Beyond that? Who knows. With as popular as the franchise is, there’s sure to be more Iron Man films, so we can probably check that box. That leaves space for more Thor and Hulk films to bring up the rear, as well as the probable sequel to Guardians of the Galaxy. However, I’d personally LOVE to see Black Panther make his debut on the screen, as well as Doctor Strange. Both characters have been hinted at in the universe so far. These do seem to be new character films in the universe that they’re announcing.


Maybe Darkhawk, too.

(Just kidding).

San Diego Comic-Con is this coming week, so we may hear something then.

HT Andrien Gbinigie

Author: Dalibor Dimovski

Dali is the Editor-in-Chief and co-founder of SideQuesting, as well as the co-Founder of CarDesignFetish and the founder of MakLink. Dali is also a car designer, deejay, and introductory beer-brewer.

Share This Post On